The Catholic University of America

Academic Calendar

Below are the undergraduate and graduate academic calendars for the Fall 2014 and Spring 2015 semesters. 

These calendars do not apply to CUA's fully online programs.  Online programs calendars can be found here.

 

PDF versions of these calendars and calendars for past and future terms can be found here.

The 2015 Summer Sessions calendar can be found here.

Law School academic calendars can be found here.

 

Fall Semester 2014

Thursday, August 21
Monday, August 25
Opening of classes 
Thursday, August 28
Mass of the Holy Spirit - University Mass (no classes between 12:00 p.m. and 3:30 p.m.) 
Monday, September 1
Labor Day (Holiday) 
Friday, September 5
Last day to register or add regular session courses for credit, including comprehensive exams and internships (use Cardinal Station)*
Last day to drop regular session courses without record (use Cardinal Station)*
Wednesday, September 10
Class of 2018 Convocation, 9:00 a.m.
Friday, September 26
Final date to deposit theses and dissertations for October 2014 graduation
Wednesday, October 1
Last day for Summer 2014 graduation candidates to submit online diploma application (use Cardinal Station)
Monday, October 6
Friday, October 10
Faculty submits interim grades for freshmen
Friday, October 10
Midterm
Last day to resolve grades of Incomplete from the previous semester
Last day to change to audit
Monday, October 13 Columbus Day (Holiday)
Tuesday, October 14 Administrative Monday: Monday classes meet instead of Tuesday classes this day only
Monday, October 27
Pre-registration advising begins
Saturday, November 1 All Saints Day
Monday, November 3 Registration for Spring (Second) Semester 2015 begins (use Cardinal Station).
Friday, November 7
Last day to withdraw from regular session classes with a “W” grade (use Cardinal Station)*
Monday, November 10
Last day to request pass/fail option (undergraduates only with dean's permission)
Wednesday, November 26
Thanksgiving recess begins
Monday, December 1
Classes resume
Friday, December 5 Last day of classes (Note: Classes that meet on Saturdays only will meet on Saturday, December 6)
Saturday, December 6 –
Monday, December 8
Reading Period (Note: Classes that meet on Saturdays only will meet on Saturday, December 6)
Monday, December 8
Patronal Feast of the Immaculate Conception (Holiday and Reading Day) 
Tuesday, December 9 –
Saturday, December 13
Final Examination Period
Wednesday, December 17
All final grades due by 3:00 p.m. 
Friday, January 2, 2015
Last day for Fall 2014 graduation candidates to submit online diploma application (use Cardinal Station)
Friday, January 9, 2015
Final date to deposit theses and dissertations for January 2015 graduation
  

Spring Semester 2015

Monday, November 3, 2014
Registration for Spring Semester 2015 begins (use Cardinal Station)
Friday, January 2
Last day for Fall 2014 graduation candidates to submit online diploma application (use Cardinal Station)
Monday, January 12
Opening of classes
Monday, January 19
Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr., Day (Holiday)
Friday, January 23
Last day to register or add regular session courses for credit, including comprehensive exams and internships (use Cardinal Station)*
Last day to drop regular session courses without record (use Cardinal Station)*
Tuesday, January 27
Patronal Feast of St. Thomas Aquinas University Mass, 12:10 p.m.; Classes beginning at 11:10 a.m. will be dismissed at 11:50 a.m.; classes meeting at 12:35 p.m. will meet at 1:20 p.m.
Wednesday, February 18 Ash Wednesday
Monday, February 23 –
Friday, February 27
Faculty submit interim grades for freshmen
Tuesday, February 24 Administrative Monday: Monday classes meet instead of Tuesday classes on this day only
Friday, February 27
Midterm
Last day to resolve grades of Incomplete from the previous semester
Last day to change to audit
Friday, March 6 Last day for Spring 2015 graduation candidates to submit online diploma application (use Cardinal Station)
Monday, March 9
Spring recess begins
Monday, March 16
Classes resume
Pre-registration advising for Fall 2015 begins
Registration for Summer 2015 begins (use Cardinal Station)
Monday, March 23
Registration for Fall (First) Semester 2015 begins (use Cardinal Station).
Monday, March 30 Last day to request pass/fail option (undergraduates only with dean’s permission)
Wednesday, April 1
Last day to withdraw from regular session courses with a “W” grade (use Cardinal Station)*
Thursday, April 2 Holy Thursday.  No Classes; Easter recess begins
Friday, April 3 Good Friday
Sunday, April 5 Easter Sunday
Monday, April 6 Easter Monday
Tuesday, April 7 Classes resume
Friday, April 10 Founders Day
Wednesday, April 29
Reading Day
Friday, May 1
Final date to deposit theses and dissertations for May 2015 graduation
Saturday, May 2 Last day of classes
Sunday, May 3 –
Monday, May 4
Reading Period
Tuesday, May 5
Saturday, May 9
Final examination period
Monday, May 11
Grades for graduating students due by noon
Tuesday, May 12
All other grades due by 3:00 p.m.
Friday, May 15
Saturday, May 16
Friday, May 22
Law School Commencement
Monday, May 11 –
Saturday, August 15
Summer Session

 *Courses offered in dynamically dated sessions (those which do not extend the full length of the semester) may have earlier or later deadlines.  These deadlines may be viewed via the calendar icon in Cardinal Station.