The Catholic University of America

Academic Calendar

Below are the undergraduate and graduate academic calendars for the Fall 2013 and Spring 2014 semesters.

PDF versions of these calendars and calendars for past and future terms can be found here.

The 2014 Summer Sessions calendar can be found here.

Law School academic calendars can be found here.

 

Fall Semester 2013

Thursday, August 22
Monday, August 26
Opening of classes 
Thursday, August 29
Mass of the Holy Spirit - University Mass (no classes between 12:00 p.m. and 2:10 p.m.) 
Monday, September 2
Labor Day (Holiday) 
Friday, September 6
Last day to register or add courses for credit, including COMPS and Internships (use Cardinal Station)
Last day to drop a course without record (use Cardinal Station)
Wednesday, September 11
Class of 2017 Convocation, 9:00 a.m.
Friday, September 27
Final date to deposit theses and dissertations for October 2013 graduation
Tuesday, October 1
Last day for Summer 2013 graduation candidates to submit online diploma application (use Cardinal Station)
Tuesday, October 7 
Friday, October 11
Faculty submits interim grades for freshmen
Friday, October 11
Midterm
Last day to resolve grades of Incomplete from the previous semester
Last day to change to audit
Monday, October 14 Columbus Day (Holiday)
Tuesday, October 15 Administrative Monday: Monday classes meet instead of Tuesday classes this day only
Monday, October 28
Pre-registration advising begins
Friday, November 1 All Saints Day
Saturday, November 2 All Souls Liturgy - Memorial Mass for Deceased of the University Community
Monday, November 4 Registration for Spring (Second) Semester 2014 begins (use Cardinal Station).
Friday, November 8
Last day to withdraw from classes with a “W” grade (use Cardinal Station)
Monday, November 11
Last day to request pass/fail option (undergraduates only with dean's permission)
Wednesday, November 27
Thanksgiving recess begins
Monday, December 2
Classes resume
Friday, December 6 Last day of classes (Note: Classes that meet on Saturdays only will meet on Saturday, December 7)
Saturday, December 7 Classes that meet on Saturdays only will meet for two meeting periods this day
Sunday, December 8
Patronal Feast of the Immaculate Conception (Holiday and Reading Day) 
Saturday, December 7 –
Sunday, December 8
Reading Period
Monday, December 9 –
Saturday, December 14
Final Examination Period
Wednesday, December 18
All final grades due by 3:00 p.m. 
Thursday, January 2, 2014
Last day for Fall 2013 graduation candidates to submit online diploma application (use Cardinal Station)
Friday, January 10, 2013
Final date to deposit theses and dissertations for January 2014 graduation
  

Spring Semester 2014

Monday, November 4, 2013
Registration for Spring Semester 2014 begins (use Cardinal Station)
Thursday, January 2
Last day for Fall 2013 graduation candidates to submit online diploma application (use Cardinal Station)
Monday, January 13
Opening of classes
Monday, January 20
Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr., Day (Holiday)
Friday, January 24
Last day to register or add courses for credit, including COMPS and Internships (use Cardinal Station)
Last day to drop a course without record (use Cardinal Station)
Tuesday, January 28
Patronal Feast of St. Thomas Aquinas University Mass will be held at 12:10 p.m.; Classes beginning at 11:10 a.m. will be dismissed at 11:50 a.m.; classes meeting at 12:35 p.m. will meet at 1:20 p.m.
Monday, February 24 –
Friday, February 28
Faculty submit interim grades for freshmen
Friday, February 28
Midterm
Last day to resolve grades of Incomplete from the previous semester
Last day to change to audit
Wednesday, March 5 Ash Wednesday
Friday, March 7 Last day for Spring 2014 graduation candidates to submit online diploma application (use Cardinal Station)
Monday, March 10
Spring recess begins
Saturday, March 15
Registration for Summer 2014 begins (use Cardinal Station)
Monday, March 17
Classes resume
Pre-registration advising for Fall 2014 begins
Monday, March 24
Registration for Fall (First) Semester 2014 begins (use Cardinal Station).
Monday, March 31 Last day to request pass/fail option (undergraduates only with dean’s permission)
Wednesday, April 2
Last day to withdraw from courses with a “W” grade (use Cardinal Station)
Thursday, April 10 Founders Day
Thursday, April 17 Holy Thursday.  No Classes; Easter recess begins
Friday, April 18 Good Friday
Sunday, April 20 Easter Sunday
Monday, April 21 Easter Monday
Tuesday, April 22 Classes resume
Wednesday, April 30
Reading Day Cancelled; Administrative Monday: Monday classes will meet this day
Friday, May 2
Last day of classes (Note: Classes that meet Saturdays only will meet on Saturday, May 3)
Final date to deposit theses and dissertations for May 2014 graduation
Saturday, May 3 –
Monday, May 5
Reading Period (Note: Classes that meet on Saturdays only will meet on Saturday, May 3)
Tuesday, May 6 
Saturday, May 10
Final examination period
Monday, May 12
Grades for graduating students due by noon
Tuesday, May 13
All other grades due by 3:00 p.m.
Friday, May 16
Saturday, May 17
Friday, May 23
Law School Commencement
Monday, May 12 –
Saturday, August 9
Summer Session